The amount of insurance coverage available for an Uber or Lyft driver causing injury depends on the driver’s status at the time when the injury occurs. In Louisiana, the minimum personal liability coverage for ridesharing drivers is $15,000 per person, $30,000 per accident for bodily harm, and $25,000 per accident for property damage. However, Uber and Lyft provide much greater insurance coverage than the state minimum. This depends on the driver’s working status.
Status Unavailable for Rides
Unavailable for rides means that the driver turned off the Uber or Lyft rideshare app. During this period, the driver’s personal liability coverage applies because they are not working for Uber or Lyft. Accordingly, the Uber and Lyft insurance coverage isn’t triggered.
Status Available for Rides
When the driver picks up a passenger or is available for a ride, Uber and Lyft’s insurance coverage applies. The driver is considered working once he has turned on the ridesharing app even if he has not actually accepted a ride. At this time, both the driver’s personal insurance coverage and Uber or Lyft’s insurance coverage provides coverage. Therefore, you can file a claim for compensation with the insurance company or you can file a personal injury lawsuit.
Uber and Lyft Amount of Liability Insurance
The commercial insurance of both Uber and Lyft covers their driver’s wrongdoing. The insurance policy provides coverage of $1 million dollars. However, skilled attorneys have ways to open these policies that can make the coverage unlimited for severe injures when the damages exceed $1,000,000. The law refers to this as 3rd party bad faith claim.
Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage
Additionally, these insurance policies cover the costs of injury for victims when the at fault driver has no insurance or too little insurance to pay the loss. This applies to hit and run accidents involving an Uber or Lyft. Also, this coverage applies when at fault driver has no insurance.
Between Trip Policies
Furthermore, a between trip policy covers situations when the personal insurance of the Uber or Lyft driver provides no between trip coverage. Usually, this policy will cover the driver’s liability up to $50,000 per injured person, $100,000 for bodily injuries per accident, and $25,000 in property damages. As before, a skilled trial lawyer could open these policies under the right circumstances.
Hire an Experienced Lawyer
Even when the injury is clear, insurance claims seeking compensation for injury claims are complex. Moreover, Louisiana has a 1-year statute of limitations to file civil lawsuits. That’s why it is important to hire a lawyer to work for you to maximize your recovery and protect your rights. Therefore, a trial lawyer in Louisiana with a proven track record who understands Uber and Lyft insurance issues can help.